by Syd Kemp



Jangly guitars, swinging drums, and baritone harmonies – Syd Kemp's The Horror touches fondly on decades of guitar pop, psychedelic rock, and in doing so, separates itself from the new-new wave of post-post punk. The opening track features a punchy guitar line and bullhorn vocals that would make Bradford Cox proud, while the titular track introduces some peppy saxophone. Not to be outdone, the flip side of the tape offers finger-snappin' (or toe-tappin', if you prefer that sort of accompaniment) rhythms with the phased out guitar sound that made Tame Impala an instant icon, while the tape's closer brilliantly jumps from laid-back grooving to Popul Vuh-esque chaotic ambience.

The Horror finds a special, limited-run release with Little League Records for International Cassette Store Day 2014, so be sure to stop by your locally-owned record store and grab a copy!


For fans of artists such as Atlas Sound, Mac Demarco and Alex Calder.


released September 27, 2014

All songs engineered by Syd Kemp at Friends Studios, London.
Produced and mixed by John Linger. Mastered by Syd Kemp.
All songs and lyrics written by Syd Kemp.
Artwork by Cammie.

Syd Kemp (Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Rhodes, Xylophone, Organ, Keys, Percussions)
Harry Bohay (Drums, Slide Guitar, Mandolin, Lap Steel, Backing Vocals)
Riley Difford (Backing Vocals)
Iacopo Bertolli (Backing Vocals)
John Linger (Sounds, Keys)
Kenichi Iwasa (Trumpet)
William Cunningham (Saxophone)
Simon Von Balthazar (Saxophone)



all rights reserved


Little L Records Ireland

Little L Records is an online record label catering to all types of alternative, experimental and unique music, from all around the globe.

contact / help

Contact Little L Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code